Question: Does Oklahoma Have Senior Abuse Laws

Oklahoma law prohibits abuse, neglect, and financial exploitation by a caregiver in 21 O.S. Physical abuse, neglect, and financial neglect or financial exploitation by a caregiver are all felonies punishable by a maximum of 10 years in prison and a fine of up to $10,000.

Is elder abuse a felony in Oklahoma?

Elder Abuse. This law covers all forms of elder abuse or neglect in any form committed by anyone. This is a felony and depending on the severity of the crime can spend up to 15 years in prison and pay up to $10,000 in fines.

What is considered elder abuse in Oklahoma?

Nursing Home Care Act: “Abuse” means the willful infliction of injury, unreasonable confinement, intimidation or punishment, with resulting physical harm, impairment or mental anguish.

How do I report financial elder abuse in Oklahoma?

Contact Information. If you suspect that a vulnerable adult is the victim of abuse, neglect or exploitation, please submit an online report at You may also call the Abuse and Neglect hotline at 1-800-522-3511.

Is exploitation of the elderly a crime?

California Penal Code 368 PC defines the crime of elder abuse as inflicting physical or emotional abuse, neglect, or financial exploitation upon a victim who is 65 years of age or older. The offense can be prosecuted as a misdemeanor or a felony, and is punishable by up to 4 years of jail or prison.

What is the APS program?

Adult Protective Services (APS) is a social services program provided by state and local governments serving older adults and adults with disabilities who need assistance because of abuse, neglect, self-neglect, or financial exploitation (adult maltreatment).

What happens after APS investigation?

Once a report is assessed by APS, an investigator (typically a social worker) begins working on the “case.” The investigator completes face-to-face visits, collects collateral information from those involved and gathers medical or financial records and documents these activities.

What happens when you call APS?

What Happens When a Report is Made? A concerned citizen contacts his/her local APS office to report concerns about the welfare of a senior or adult with disabilities. If the situation meets criteria for abuse, neglect or exploitation, an APS worker will initiate face-to-face contact with the adult needing assistance.

How do I report someone to DHS in Oklahoma?

If you believe a child is being abused or neglected, you have a legal responsibility to report it. Reports can be made at any time to the DHS Abuse and Neglect Hotline at 1-800-522-3511. The hotline is available 24 hours-a-day, 7 days-a-week.

How do you prove elder abuse?

In order to prove you guilty of FELONY elder abuse under Penal Code section 368, the prosecutor must establish beyond a reasonable doubt the following: 1) you inflicted unjustifiable physical pain or mental suffering on an elder, or you allowed another person to do so; 2) you acted willfully or with criminal negligence.

How do you charge someone with elder abuse?

Call 1800 628 221. Any- one can make the call.

What to do if someone is taking advantage of the elderly?

Here are some steps to consider taking: Talk to the older person. Gather more information or evidence as to what is occurring. Contact the older person’s financial institution. Contact your local Adult Protective Services (APS) office. Contact law enforcement.

What happens when you report someone for elder abuse?

If your state mandates reporting, most medical care providers have an obligation to report suspected elder abuse. If they fail to report potential abuse, they can be liable for any injuries and damages the victim may later suffer.

Who qualifies for APS?

APS is available without regard to income for adults 18 years of age or older who: 1. The person has a physical or mental impairment 2. The person is in need of protection from actual or threatened harm due an inability to meet their essential needs OR protect them from abuse or financial exploitation 3.

When Should APS be called?

Information For Mandated Reporters Mandated reporters are required to report suspected abuse or neglect by phone as soon as possible and follow up with a completed written report (see link below for form) within two days.

How do you fight false APS reports?

If you have been falsely accused, you can take legal action against her. One is for filing a false official report and the other is for libel / slander. Speak with a Litigation Attorney licensed to practice in California (see to locate one) and sort out the best way for you moving forward.

Which type of abuse is the most unreported?

The U.S. Justice Department notes that caregiver neglect is the most unreported type of abuse, with 1 out of every 57 cases being reported. Neglect is also one of the most common types of elder abuse.

Who are the most common perpetrators of elder abuse?

The majority of elder abuse victims are female, whereas the majority of the perpetrators are male. Overall, adult children are most often the perpetrators of elder abuse, followed by other family members and spouses.

Are APS reports anonymous?

Yes, any person making a report to APS can do so anonymously. Please visit for more information on how to make a report in your area. While some state laws protect the identity of the person making the report, others do not.

How do you report concern for the elderly?

To report a concern, contact the Adult Protective Services (APS) agency in the state where the older adult resides. Find the APS reporting number for each state by visiting: The State Resources section of the National Center on Elder Abuse website. The Eldercare Locator website or calling 800-677-1116.

What is DHS neglect?

District law defines child neglect as: Lack of food, shelter, supervision, education, or medical care for a child due to actions or habits of a parent (or caregiver).

What CPS looks for?

CPS will look for any hazards that could result in a child’s burn injuries, including electrical equipment, chemicals, and thermal contact. Fire hazards. Make sure that flammable items are far away from open flame in the house. A CPS investigator may also ask you if your house is equipped with smoke alarms.